12
Oct
07

The Worst Shopping Experience of My Entire Life Taipei’s Jazz Photography

For a photographer having a good relationship with a photography supply store and print shop is essential. Over the years I’ve done business with a variety of different retailers who have come to know me and support my work. Forming this relationship costs money as you have to pay for the print shop’s service. However, it can also save you money through good advice or discounts through loyalty.

In Taipei I have yet to find a processing store that I feel at home with. Someone recommended Jazz Photography and I looked forward to checking out their services.

Well, as the title of this post suggests the experience was the worst shopping experience of my entire life. I visited the store to get twelve negatives scanned into digital files. Jazz is expensive and this process was going to cost 2,400 NTD, or about 70 CDN. When I left they asked me to pay the price upfront and I obliged.

Yesterday I returned to Jazz to pick up the Cd and negatives. When I handed over my ticket the service woman told me they had made a mistake and scanned the negatives using a more expensive resolution. Unbelievably she then asked me to pay the difference of 1,200 NTD or 35CDN. I refused to pay this fee as it was their mistake and spoke to the manager on the phone in English who I had also communicated with on my previous visit. He assured me that everything was fine and I took the CD, my negatives, and prepared to leave the store. He then communicated this message to the female store attendants who did not seem to be in agreement with him.

These service woman were rude and hostile towards me. They wanted me to pay the extra money regardless of any reason. Most likely because I am a foreigner. This is a racist attitude. Quite often this happens to me when dealing with small businesses in Taiwan.

After leaving the store and having walked a block down the street two clerks ran after me and demanded I give them back the digital CD. This sort of crazy behavior is something that I have never seen or experienced in my life. The women did not offer to return my $2,400 NTD, but they wanted me to give them back the CD. Needless to say I told them off and kept on walking.

This whole experience left me feeling angry, shaken, disturbed, and harassed. Jazz Photography is terrible and I would strongly discourage anyone from doing any business with them. The worst part is that I wanted to form a business relationship with the store. As a photographer I am looking for a good print shop where I can get giant poster sized prints made. Does anyone know of a good, and professional, photo processing shop in Taipei?

7 Responses to “The Worst Shopping Experience of My Entire Life Taipei’s Jazz Photography”


  1. October 12, 2007 at 5:22 am

    Sounds like a real circus they got there. You make a mistake, ask your valued customer to pay the difference, piss her off to make sure that she’ll tell everyone never to go to that store again, contradict your manager’s decision in front of the customer, chase your customer down the street…. it’s almost comic in a psychotic clown sort of a way!

  2. 2 blueJay
    October 12, 2007 at 5:44 am

    Dear Joanna,
    I’m really sorry for what had happened to you. As matter of fact, there has been a lot of complain against this print shop, and, for some reason I don’t know, that’s usually the attitude of the ‘so-called professional’ print shop treat you.
    Perhaps you can spare some time with the shop I most of the time go to: Zone Five, (the website is not working at the movement).
    here is the address on gmap:
    http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=%E8%87%BA%E5%8C%97%E5%B8%82%E4%B8%AD%E5%B1%B1%E5%8D%80%E9%81%BC%E5%AF%A7%E8%A1%9715%E8%99%9F&sll=54.162434,-3.647461&sspn=11.647785,29.882813&ie=UTF8&ll=25.048067,121.542156&spn=0.008787,0.014591&z=16&om=1

    Good Luck

  3. October 12, 2007 at 10:45 pm

    I rarely use film, but a friend who shoots film recommended this store. I have only used it once to get slide film processed.

    Tongli Electronic Image (統立彩色電子影像)
    No. 18 Lane 216 Sec. 4 Zhongxiao East Road, Taipei
    Ph: 02 2772 2104

    Same friend also recommended this shop for purchasing film as they have a good range in stock.

    Yongjia (永佳照相器村)
    No. 168 Sec. 1 Xinsheng South Road, Taipei
    Ph: 02 2394 3300

  4. October 13, 2007 at 12:41 am

    I hear you babe. We often get the foreigner price in Taiwan. It’s not as bad as Thailand, but it’s still annoying.

  5. 5 Luke
    October 14, 2007 at 1:23 am

    Hello Joanna,

    Wow….i have never seen this kind of behavior in the retail or service industry…they hunted you down. I think that maybe the one lady was the ‘wife’ or someone important..mother etc…part owner. Yes, i can see racism playing a factor…she just didn’t like you.

    Is this photo group part of a bigger chain? If it is AND you feel really bad about it and want to vent out you might send their HR department a nice little letter explaining how you where treated and basically chased down on the street and demanded that you give back the cd…….send a letter to the paper…..(with this route more details…the better).

    Or you could take a deep breath and try again with another store..your busy with life..dont hold this experiance in ………..Remember life is always full of experiences..some good some not so good

    Good for you sticking up for yourself! A lot of people just take things like this and this lady could have been looking to ‘rip’ you off…..did they actually the photo at a much higher resolution?

  6. October 24, 2007 at 1:32 am

    I have been warned off of Jazz by a local professional friend who told me that their work is quite inconsistent. He also recommended Zone5 for B&W. I decided to try them for color as well. Dropped off film to be developed and scanned. They are charging NT$4150 (10 rolls of B&W, 15 rolls of color). I guess shooting film is more expensive than supporting a smoking habit would be here.

    Number 15 Liaoning Street, Open 8:30 to 8 Monday through Friday. 8:30 to 5 on Saturdays. Closed on Sundays.

  7. 7 passing by
    March 30, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    maybe it is a little bit late to leave comment, but there is another great photography store at Gongguan, the 5color, the address is No.325, Sec. 3, Roosevelt Rd.


Leave a Reply

Jo’s tweets

Pages

RSS rss feed

  • Grow With HubSpot New York February 23, 2016
    The marketing software company HubSpot sponsored an event at Irving Plaza in New York, NY on Thursday February 18th to provide an overview of their services to potential clients and marketers. HubSpot markets through Web 2.0, social media, email marketing, CRM, and blogs. The event began at 2pm and began with a session on how […]
    Jo Rees
  • TCS NYC Marathon Long Training Run #1: Race review July 26th, 2014 August 14, 2014
    Pacers from the New York Flyers running club 20.9 miles 8’37” pace/mile time This was a very meaningful race that I’d trained hard for. I knew that running 20 miles along the rolling hills of Central Park was going to be a challenge. I wanted to finish and finish strong. The race began at 7am and […]
    Jo Rees
  • Scotiabank Vancouver Half-Marathon Race Review: 1:49:40, June 22nd 2014 August 14, 2014
    This was a special race as it took place in my hometown of Vancouver, BC. I had wanted to run a Vancouver race for a while and it was an absolute pleasure to run through UBC, West Van, and Stanley Park for 13.10 miles. The course began at UBC’s Thunderbird Arena and ran along SW […]
    Jo Rees
  • Christie Clinic Illinois Marathon: Race Review 3:58:18 August 14, 2014
    It was a great experience to run my first marathon at home in Champaign-Urbana, Illinois on April 26th. I decided to run with the 3:50 pace group and met a lot of interesting people on the course. Our pacer Steve had run 13 marathons in one year and I connected with others who traveled across […]
    Jo Rees
  • February 2014 April 12, 2014
    Here are some images from New York and Urbana, Il from February 2014 Filed under: General
    Jo Rees
  • PicFrame Collages March 17, 2014
    Here are photographs from our trip to Washington DC last weekend that are framed using the PicFrame app. Filed under: General
    Jo Rees
  • Photographs from January 2014 February 10, 2014
    Here are some images from Urbana, IL and New York, NY from January 2014 Filed under: General
    Jo Rees
  • Photographs from December 2013 February 9, 2014
    Images from the holidays in Urbana, IL and New York, NY   Filed under: General
    Jo Rees
  • Photographs from November 2013 February 9, 2014
    Here are some images from last November in Urbana, IL and New York, NY Filed under: General
    Jo Rees
  • Photographs from October 2013 February 9, 2014
    Here are some images from Urbana, IL from last October and early November Filed under: General
    Jo Rees

RSS rss comment feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS rss photography

  • Who Knows If The Moon's September 20, 2017
    who knows if the moon’s a balloon, coming out of a keen city in the sky—filled with pretty people? (
    anisakazemi
  • I am not done with my changes September 20, 2017
    Such little lives we live if only we would admit it.  All of us however fêted.  Marking out our  pat
    Osyth
  • "To say it was a beautiful day.. September 20, 2017
    would not begin to explain it. It was that day when the end of summer intersects perfectly with the
    Susan
  • Flor dalia September 20, 2017
    2.444814 -76.614739
    photographyartplus
  • Date to Edgcumbe September 20, 2017
    After nearly 5 months of being together we finally got out date to Mount Edcumbe and it was beautifu
    Cuppa Due North

