25
Aug
07

Photos of Carrie modeling Cupping and Scrapping for Discover Taipei

This was a very intense photo shoot. It was held at the Taipei City hospital-Linsen Branch and administered by Dr. Tzu-Ying Lai. Carrie is a wonderful model and friend. It is amazing how radiant she looks throughout this uncomfortable experience.

13 Responses to “Photos of Carrie modeling Cupping and Scrapping for Discover Taipei”


  1. August 26, 2007 at 12:33 am

    Looks pretty bad… I wouldn’t want to get that done! But looks like Carrie took it like a trooper!

  2. August 26, 2007 at 12:40 am

    Carrie looks stunning. Some people can make anything look good and Miss Marshall deserves a medal for this one.

  3. 4 globetrotteri
    August 26, 2007 at 2:27 am

    I can see why you felt a little hesitant to post these, but honestly, they’re terrific. And really, it wasn’t all that bad. I’ve satisfied my own natural curiosity about these two ancient practices. The cupping was uncomfortable. I won’t do scraping again. And the marks were gone a few days later.

  4. August 26, 2007 at 5:03 am

    Glad to hear that your back is better now Carrie. I was worried there for a while.

  5. August 26, 2007 at 5:09 am

    I was worried too! These photos are almost painful to look at!

  6. August 26, 2007 at 6:53 am

    i’ve done the cupping thing many times, it’s not so bad nor painful, but you end up looking like you were attacked by a giant octopus.

  7. 8 Lisa Bettany
    August 26, 2007 at 4:23 pm

    can someone tell me what the purpose of these practices are? i’m confused by the ouchiness of them.

    glad you weren’t permanently scarred, Carrie. yikes!

  8. August 27, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    Gak! This can’t be good for you. I recommend instead a blackberry cane rubdown followed by a refreshing vinegar spritz. Breathtaking.

  9. 10 Luke
    August 28, 2007 at 12:16 pm

    I am wondering what these practises are for? Could you not get someone to give you a hickey for the same affect? What is the scraping for? What is the main purpose of these procedures?

  10. August 30, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    My back hurts now. The redness from the scraping looks really painful!

  11. 12 Alana Allen
    September 6, 2007 at 1:58 pm

    Wow that’s intense. By looking at these photo’s i feel your pain carebear, but I am glad to hear all is better now, no more pain, just gain babe!

  12. 13 Mingxia
    February 29, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    I’ve had these methods done to me by my parents because I’m Chinese, so whenever I get sick I have to get this treatment. It doesn’t actually hurt… okay, the last one I got hurt, but other than that, it’s not too bad.

    The purpose of these “practices” as you call them is to get “bad air” out of your body. Bad air supposedly makes you sick with a cold or so over time. These practices are also used to relieve pain. If you get these treatments and the color of your back is dark pink or purple, it is because you are sick probably with a cold or so. If the color turns out light light pink, then it’s nothing serious. Hope I helped.


Leave a Reply

Jo’s tweets

Pages

RSS rss feed

  • Grow With HubSpot New York February 23, 2016
    The marketing software company HubSpot sponsored an event at Irving Plaza in New York, NY on Thursday February 18th to provide an overview of their services to potential clients and marketers. HubSpot markets through Web 2.0, social media, email marketing, CRM, and blogs. The event began at 2pm and began with a session on how […]
    Jo Rees
  • TCS NYC Marathon Long Training Run #1: Race review July 26th, 2014 August 14, 2014
    Pacers from the New York Flyers running club 20.9 miles 8’37” pace/mile time This was a very meaningful race that I’d trained hard for. I knew that running 20 miles along the rolling hills of Central Park was going to be a challenge. I wanted to finish and finish strong. The race began at 7am and […]
    Jo Rees
  • Scotiabank Vancouver Half-Marathon Race Review: 1:49:40, June 22nd 2014 August 14, 2014
    This was a special race as it took place in my hometown of Vancouver, BC. I had wanted to run a Vancouver race for a while and it was an absolute pleasure to run through UBC, West Van, and Stanley Park for 13.10 miles. The course began at UBC’s Thunderbird Arena and ran along SW […]
    Jo Rees
  • Christie Clinic Illinois Marathon: Race Review 3:58:18 August 14, 2014
    It was a great experience to run my first marathon at home in Champaign-Urbana, Illinois on April 26th. I decided to run with the 3:50 pace group and met a lot of interesting people on the course. Our pacer Steve had run 13 marathons in one year and I connected with others who traveled across […]
    Jo Rees
  • February 2014 April 12, 2014
    Here are some images from New York and Urbana, Il from February 2014 Filed under: General
    Jo Rees
  • PicFrame Collages March 17, 2014
    Here are photographs from our trip to Washington DC last weekend that are framed using the PicFrame app. Filed under: General
    Jo Rees
  • Photographs from January 2014 February 10, 2014
    Here are some images from Urbana, IL and New York, NY from January 2014 Filed under: General
    Jo Rees
  • Photographs from December 2013 February 9, 2014
    Images from the holidays in Urbana, IL and New York, NY   Filed under: General
    Jo Rees
  • Photographs from November 2013 February 9, 2014
    Here are some images from last November in Urbana, IL and New York, NY Filed under: General
    Jo Rees
  • Photographs from October 2013 February 9, 2014
    Here are some images from Urbana, IL from last October and early November Filed under: General
    Jo Rees

RSS rss comment feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS rss photography

  • Sports Photography December 15, 2017
    Soccer   Swimming & Diving
    Kayla B.
  • Nielsen Fam December 15, 2017
    Thanksgiving weekend was a busy one for us! We did a small dinner with just our little crew, checked
    Becky Currier
  • My Favorite Photos I've Taken December 15, 2017
      Here is a mini collection of some of my favorite shots I’ve taken. I use my Instagram (
    kaitlynmariepierson
  • Blue And Gold Sky December 15, 2017
    Colin M. Drysdale
  • A special gift. December 15, 2017
    Good morning, Everyone, or is it afternoon??? I get busy and forget to look at the clock unless my s
    Julie Johnston

