05
Aug
07

No more serious Jo

Self-portrait August 1, 2007

Sometimes I can be too serious. All work and no play. This summer has been a bit of a bummer. My Chinese class has sucked the life out of me. It’s a constant stress. My two hours a day ten hours a week course schedule is very tough and its hard to balance with work. Recently I have been doing well in the course. However, in order to keep up with the vocabulary I have to spend most of this weekend studying.

You know what, I haven’t studied. My Chinese class has left little time for my photography or blogging and I feel like taking a break. Being creative is important to me and life feels empty when it’s all work and no play. This week I’ve gotten a lot of e-mails from old friends on Facebook and I think it’s important to make time for the good people in your life.

Work and ambition are important but they should not be what defines us. What do you really remember as time goes by? The stress of meeting a deadline, or the laughter and fun shared with family and friends.

4 Responses to “No more serious Jo”


  1. 1 globetrotteri
    August 5, 2007 at 6:02 am

    I love love love the first photo Jo. I’m glad you’re taking a break and stopping to smell the roses, so to speak.

    Too much work can really stifle a person, and I know you’ve been feeling stressed and down lately. Although studying is time consuming and frustrating at times, I think this will benefit you in more ways than the obvious.

    Learning a new language opens up your world and helps you understand a culture. By studying, you are opening doors that you may not even realise are there. Your photography, your creativeness and your knowledge will only continue to grow in leaps and bounds with your studies, even though you haven’t felt like you’ve made any progress or headway artistically over the last two months.

    Life might not seem like a lot of fun right now, but by the end of this month, you’ll have grown so much more in terms of understanding this new world of yours.

    I just wanted to let you know that I like the serious Jo too. The serious Jo pushes me to be better, and she constantly inspires me to do more with my life.

    The fun Jo makes me laugh and smile. She’s pure joy to be around.

    I’m confidant you are going to be able to find a balance between the two.

  2. August 5, 2007 at 6:30 am

    Thanks Carrie for such a thoughtful and beautifully written comment. I’m lucky to have a friend like you.

  3. 3 Luke
    August 7, 2007 at 2:15 pm

    Hello Joanna!

    As time goes by, your right..it isn’t meeting those deadlines that is important..it is the moments you experiance and ultimately enjoy. You are you, and you should not change that unless you really really want to…but then will you be you? What i mean is if you change will you be conforming to someones expectations on how you should act, be or feel?

    One of the reasons you are one of my closests friends is because of your open passion you share with the world. Let it be Joanna in crunch mode..pulling her hair out that everything is coming down the pipe line and everyone forced deadlines on you. Or where Joanna has a spare moment. These times where the hair is let down and your out dancing the night away while taking some of those amazing pictures i have seen over the years? Those moments are what make up our dearest Joanna Rees!

    Working hard…is it really working hard? Or is it just doing something you do not want to do at this time..so forcing yourself to do it. I once was told by someone that you choose to make things hard or easy in life.

    Keep up the great work, it looks like from my side of the ‘fence’ your having the time of your life!

  4. August 9, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    Sometimes you have to take a step back. Stop and smell the flowers. Work, work, study, study, and more of both will push you over the edge.

    Enjoy some “me” time. And take some photos.


Leave a Reply

Jo’s tweets

Pages

RSS rss feed

  • Grow With HubSpot New York February 23, 2016
    The marketing software company HubSpot sponsored an event at Irving Plaza in New York, NY on Thursday February 18th to provide an overview of their services to potential clients and marketers. HubSpot markets through Web 2.0, social media, email marketing, CRM, and blogs. The event began at 2pm and began with a session on how […]
    Jo Rees
  • TCS NYC Marathon Long Training Run #1: Race review July 26th, 2014 August 14, 2014
    Pacers from the New York Flyers running club 20.9 miles 8’37” pace/mile time This was a very meaningful race that I’d trained hard for. I knew that running 20 miles along the rolling hills of Central Park was going to be a challenge. I wanted to finish and finish strong. The race began at 7am and […]
    Jo Rees
  • Scotiabank Vancouver Half-Marathon Race Review: 1:49:40, June 22nd 2014 August 14, 2014
    This was a special race as it took place in my hometown of Vancouver, BC. I had wanted to run a Vancouver race for a while and it was an absolute pleasure to run through UBC, West Van, and Stanley Park for 13.10 miles. The course began at UBC’s Thunderbird Arena and ran along SW […]
    Jo Rees
  • Christie Clinic Illinois Marathon: Race Review 3:58:18 August 14, 2014
    It was a great experience to run my first marathon at home in Champaign-Urbana, Illinois on April 26th. I decided to run with the 3:50 pace group and met a lot of interesting people on the course. Our pacer Steve had run 13 marathons in one year and I connected with others who traveled across […]
    Jo Rees
  • February 2014 April 12, 2014
    Here are some images from New York and Urbana, Il from February 2014 Filed under: General
    Jo Rees
  • PicFrame Collages March 17, 2014
    Here are photographs from our trip to Washington DC last weekend that are framed using the PicFrame app. Filed under: General
    Jo Rees
  • Photographs from January 2014 February 10, 2014
    Here are some images from Urbana, IL and New York, NY from January 2014 Filed under: General
    Jo Rees
  • Photographs from December 2013 February 9, 2014
    Images from the holidays in Urbana, IL and New York, NY   Filed under: General
    Jo Rees
  • Photographs from November 2013 February 9, 2014
    Here are some images from last November in Urbana, IL and New York, NY Filed under: General
    Jo Rees
  • Photographs from October 2013 February 9, 2014
    Here are some images from Urbana, IL from last October and early November Filed under: General
    Jo Rees

RSS rss comment feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS rss photography

  • June 26 June 26, 2017
    nuvofelt
  • oblivious June 26, 2017
    Spring departs — the clear moon oblivious of passing time ~Soseki (S Carter, Haiku before Haik
    brenda
  • Warm and sunny again  June 26, 2017
    nuvofelt
  • Magical Places June 26, 2017
    I feel grateful to be living in a part of the world where there are many places that I can explore f
    Spaghetti Paper Factory
  • Want to Order Our New Magazine? (Open Orders Available!) June 26, 2017
    From the Founder & CEO: First of all, I just want to say thank you to all of you out there who a
    Millionaire's Digest

