31
Mar
07

Taiwanisms of the week: spilling yogurt before teaching and other personal reflections

 

Here I am painting a horse sculpture on a field trip in HsinChu County last November.  Sometimes you can’t anticipate what the day will bring in Taiwan….

-Last week at work I spilled yogurt on my pants just before teaching University students.  Thankfully it was Monday morning so everyone was too asleep to notice. 

-Since I can’t read any signs finding certain services in the city can be a real challenge and it is often left up to luck.  Last week I found an office supply store.  Oh the convenience!  I also found a Bank of Taiwan near N.T.N.U. so that I could deposit money into my Canadian bank account.

-Today I tried calling Rachelle in B.C. but my phone card would not work. I ran out to the Family Mart and bought a new one but the toll free number was not working.  Very strange indeed. 

-Last night Range and I got lost on our way to Citizen Cain.  We took a cab to an approximate destination and then walked.  Sure enough the cab driver on the way home got lost and we took an interesting ride around an industrial area before finally making it home.   

-At Citizen Cain I had a great talk with a man from West Virginia on the upcoming 2008 Presidential Election.  He had volunteered for Kerry’s campaign but he now is supporting McCain.  He told me that Giuliani is riding the coattails of 9/11 and that Hillary is riding the coattails of Bill.  It was a very interesting conversation. We also met Lance and saw Christian which was fun.

-Today I am also applying to have a photography exhibit at Citizen Cain.  I am not quite sure what images to submit or where I will get prints and framing made or done.  Hmmm……

-This afternoon I also enjoyed reading Sarah’s blog the lemonspank and Lisa’s blog Mostly.  Sarah has some great personal writing and Lisa is displaying some excellent work.  Well done Ladies!

-At this moment Carrie is boarding her flight to Thailand with John…..  We will miss Carrie but are excited to hear of her adventures and travels when she gets back.  Last night, Carrie mentioned how nice it was that we had the opportunity to become friends again in Taiwan considering we did not know each other as well in Ottawa.  Personally, I always like having the opportunity to get to know old friends better at a latter stage in life.  Even if you were not that close you still have a shared history and experiences in common.  Its funny sometimes those friends end up becoming the best friends.  Carrie has a very positive outlook on life and I can’t wait to hear her travel stories and read about her experiences on her blog My Several Worlds. You go girl!

1 Response to “Taiwanisms of the week: spilling yogurt before teaching and other personal reflections”


  1. 1 Lisa Belovely
    April 1, 2007 at 7:19 pm

    That photo of you is gorgeous and I love love love that starry shirt you are wearing… uber cute.

    Thanks for your link and lovely comments on my blog. It really does make my day to hear your opinions, thoughts, and advice on things. I especially liked your “anger” post. I am a stubborn brunette and I live with a fiery redhead so I know all about the passion of argument. I still need a lot of work in the taming of my temper and my ability to accept “constructive criticism”. I take everything far too personally!

    *blowing hugs and kisses across the ocean*


Leave a Reply

Jo’s tweets

Pages

RSS rss feed

  • Grow With HubSpot New York February 23, 2016
    The marketing software company HubSpot sponsored an event at Irving Plaza in New York, NY on Thursday February 18th to provide an overview of their services to potential clients and marketers. HubSpot markets through Web 2.0, social media, email marketing, CRM, and blogs. The event began at 2pm and began with a session on how […]
    Jo Rees
  • TCS NYC Marathon Long Training Run #1: Race review July 26th, 2014 August 14, 2014
    Pacers from the New York Flyers running club 20.9 miles 8’37” pace/mile time This was a very meaningful race that I’d trained hard for. I knew that running 20 miles along the rolling hills of Central Park was going to be a challenge. I wanted to finish and finish strong. The race began at 7am and […]
    Jo Rees
  • Scotiabank Vancouver Half-Marathon Race Review: 1:49:40, June 22nd 2014 August 14, 2014
    This was a special race as it took place in my hometown of Vancouver, BC. I had wanted to run a Vancouver race for a while and it was an absolute pleasure to run through UBC, West Van, and Stanley Park for 13.10 miles. The course began at UBC’s Thunderbird Arena and ran along SW […]
    Jo Rees
  • Christie Clinic Illinois Marathon: Race Review 3:58:18 August 14, 2014
    It was a great experience to run my first marathon at home in Champaign-Urbana, Illinois on April 26th. I decided to run with the 3:50 pace group and met a lot of interesting people on the course. Our pacer Steve had run 13 marathons in one year and I connected with others who traveled across […]
    Jo Rees
  • February 2014 April 12, 2014
    Here are some images from New York and Urbana, Il from February 2014 Filed under: General
    Jo Rees
  • PicFrame Collages March 17, 2014
    Here are photographs from our trip to Washington DC last weekend that are framed using the PicFrame app. Filed under: General
    Jo Rees
  • Photographs from January 2014 February 10, 2014
    Here are some images from Urbana, IL and New York, NY from January 2014 Filed under: General
    Jo Rees
  • Photographs from December 2013 February 9, 2014
    Images from the holidays in Urbana, IL and New York, NY   Filed under: General
    Jo Rees
  • Photographs from November 2013 February 9, 2014
    Here are some images from last November in Urbana, IL and New York, NY Filed under: General
    Jo Rees
  • Photographs from October 2013 February 9, 2014
    Here are some images from Urbana, IL from last October and early November Filed under: General
    Jo Rees

RSS rss comment feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS rss photography


